PAVING THE WAY FOR INNOVATIVE MEDICINES

The Lead Discovery Center GmbH (LDC) is a fully operational translational drug discovery organization tapping on a broad network in academia and industry. Together with our partners, we take on high-potential, innovative projects from academic institutions and collaboratively transform them into medically and commercially viable assets.

100 academic partners
from all over Germany and beyond fuel our portfolio, contributing break-through innovations and dedicated expertise. Our steadily growing network includes institutes from the Max Planck Society, universities (and their associated hospitals), German research centres of the Helmholtz Association, and academic excellence clusters.

80 drug discovery projects
started at LDC since 2008. 15 successfully completed projects have been partnered with or licensed to industry partners.

10 validated leads
have been successfully developed since our foundation in 2008, each one with proven efficacy in relevant animal models, patentable and ready to enter pharmaceutical drug development. 3 have reached preclinical or clinical stage.

20 industry/investment deals
have been achieved to date, including options, licences, co-developments, spin-outs, subsidiary companies and alliances, also due to LDC’s broad and reliable pharma and investor network.

25 drug discovery projects
are currently under research and development: a mix of small molecules and therapeutic antibodies targeting a broad range of human diseases with high unmet medical need.

80 experienced experts at LDC
secure the professional progress of our projects in line with the highest industry standards. Together, we cover all core disciplines of drug discovery: medicinal chemistry, assay development & screening, biology, pharmacology, therapeutic antibodies, project management, business development, and intellectual property.

> 70 publications, > 20 patent applications
mainly together with our collaboration partners; by providing tools for our academic collaboration partners, LDC enables and supports a substantial number of high-quality publications/patent applications.

Wegbereiter für neue Medikamente

Das Lead Discovery Center (LDC) ist ein Unternehmen der translationalen Arzneimittelforschung. Wir nehmen vielversprechende innovative Projekte aus der akademischen Forschung auf und überführen sie zusammen mit unseren akademischen Partnern in medizinisch und kommerziell attraktive Wirkstoffkandidaten. Hierfür steht uns unsere industrielle Infrastruktur und ein breites Netzwerk in Wissenschaft und Industrie zur Verfügung.

> 100 akademische Partner
aus Deutschland und darüber hinaus bringen ihre Innovationen und ihr Fachwissen ein, so dass wir unser Portfolio kontinuierlich erweitern können. Zu unserem wachsenden Netzwerk gehören u.a. Institute der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Universitäten (mit assoziierten Universitätskliniken), die deutschen Zentren der Gesundheitsforschung, Forschungseinrichtungen der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und akademische Exzellenz-Cluster.

90 Projekte zur Wirkstoffforschung
hat das LDC seit 2008 gestartet. Für 17 der erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Projekte wurden bereits Partnerschafts- oder Lizenzabkommen mit der Industrie unterzeichnet.

17 validierte Leitstrukturen
wurden seit unserer Gründung 2008 nominiert. Alle haben Wirksamkeit in relevanten Modellsystemen gezeigt und sind patentierbar.

3 verpartnerte Projekte
befinden sich in der klinischen Entwicklung.

22 Abkommen mit industriellen Partnern oder Investoren
wurden bislang geschlossen, einschließlich Optionen, Lizenzen, Ko-Entwicklungen, Spin-Outs, Tochtergesellschaften und Kooperationen.

29 Projekte zur Wirkstoffforschung
treiben wir aktuell voran: niedermolekulare Substanzen (small molecules) und therapeutische Antikörper zur Behandlung verschiedener Erkrankungen mit einem hohen medizinischen Bedarf.

90 erfahrene Experten am LDC
sorgen für den professionellen Fortschritt unserer Projekte unter Einhaltung höchster Industriestandards. Zusammen decken wir alle wesentlichen Disziplinen der frühen Arzneimittelforschung ab: Medizinalchemie, Assay-Entwicklung & Screening, Biologie, Pharmakologie, Therapeutische Antikörper, Projektmanagement, Business Development und Schutz des geistigen Eigentums.

> 100 Publikationen und Patente
haben wir gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern veröffentlicht.