Lead-Discovery-Center

Strong track record in industry

The interdisciplinary LDC team merges top scientific expertise in drug discovery with solid and professional project management know-how gained by LDC scientists and managers during many years in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries.

Managing Directors

  • Bert Klebl, PhD Managing Director and Chief Scientific Officer
  • Peter Nussbaumer, PhD Managing Director and Head of Medicinal Chemistry

Department Heads

  • Johannes Bange, PhD Therapeutic Antibodies
  • Matthias Baumann, PhD Head of Pharmacology
  • Axel Choidas, PhD Head of Biology
  • Jan Eickhoff, PhD Head of Assay Development & Screening
  • Michael Hamacher, PhD Head of Finance & Business Development

 

Bert Klebl has gathered more than twelve years of professional experience in the life sciences industry. He has worked in different positions in drug discovery and early development, most recently as Senior Director Discovery Biology and Head of Biology at GPC Biotech. Previously he was Axxima’s Vice President Research and as such responsible for the discovery and development of the company’s portfolio of kinase inhibitors for various therapeutic indications. In former positions, he has worked as a project and platform manager, as well as a scientist at Aventis and Hoechst Marion Roussel.

He earned his PhD in biochemistry at the University of Konstanz, Germany, and did postdoctoral work at the NRC Biotechnology Research Institute in Montréal, Canada. In the course of his research, he has published more than 30 articles in peer-reviewed journals and is a co-inventor of more than 20 patents and patent applications.

Dr. Bert Klebl

Bert Klebl, PhD Managing Director

Peter Nussbaumer brings more than 20 years of industry experience from drug discovery and early drug development to the team. Before joining the LDC, he held various positions in the area of medicinal chemistry, most recently as Executive Director and Senior Unit Head of Chemistry at the Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research in Vienna. He also managed a broad range of drug discovery projects and gained extensive experience in coordinating interdisciplinary and international project teams.

He holds a PhD in organic chemistry from the Vienna University of Technology, has published 60 articles in peer-reviewed journals and is co-inventor of more than 20 patents and patent applications.

Dr. Peter Nussbaumer

Peter Nussbaumer, PhD Managing Director

Lead-Discovery-Center

Interdisziplinäres Team aus Experten mit Industrie-Erfahrung

Das interdisziplinäre LDC-Team verbindet führende wissen- schaftliche Expertise im Bereich Drug Discovery mit profunden, professionellen Projektleiter- und Managementkenntnissen. Diese basieren auf langjähriger Industrie-Erfahrung der Wissenschaftler und Manager des LDC in der Pharma- oder Biotechbranche.

Geschäftsführer

Abteilungsleiter

 

Bert Klebl verfügt über mehr als zwölf Jahre Erfahrung in der Life-Science-Industrie. Er war in verschiedenen Positionen in der Entdeckung und frühen Entwicklung neuer Wirkstoffe tätig, zuletzt als Senior Director Discovery Biology und Head of Biology bei GPC Biotech. Zuvor war er bei Axxima als Vice President Research für den Aufbau und die Entwicklung des Portfolios an Kinase-Inhibitoren für verschiedene therapeutische Anwendungen zuständig. In früheren Positionen arbeitete er als Projekt- und Plattformleiter sowie als Wissenschaftler bei Aventis und Hoechst Marion Roussel.


Seine Doktorarbeit absolvierte er im Bereich der Biochemie an der Universität Konstanz. Anschließend war er als Postdoc am Biotechnology Research Institute des NRC Canada in Montréal (Kanada) tätig. Im Rahmen seiner Forschungsaktivitäten veröffentlichte er mehr als 30 Beiträge in Fachzeitschriften und ist als Miterfinder an über 20 Patenten oder Patentanmeldungen beteiligt.


 

Dr. Bert Klebl

 

Dr. Bert Klebl Geschäftsführer

Peter Nussbaumer blickt auf mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der industriellen Wirkstoffidentifizierung und frühen Wirkstoffentwicklung zurück. Bevor er zum LDC wechselte, hatte er verschiedene Positionen auf dem Gebiet der Medizinalchemie inne, zuletzt als Executive Director und Senior Unit Head of Chemistry am Novartis Institute for BioMedical Research in Wien. Darüber hinaus leitete er ein breites Spektrum verschiedener Drug Discovery-Projekte, bei denen er weitreichende Erfahrungen in der Koordination interdisziplinärer und internationaler Projektteams sammelte.


Seine Dissertation absolvierte er auf dem Gebiet der organischen Chemie an der Technischen Universität Wien, Österreich.  Er hat über 60 Beiträge in Fachzeitschriften publiziert und ist Miterfinder von mehr als 20 Patenten oder Patentanmeldungen.

Dr. Peter Nussbaumer

 

Dr. Peter Nussbaumer Geschäftsführer